Track List

  • Oboe Concerto Excerpts

  • Oboe d'amore Concerto Excerpts

  • Bass Oboe Concerto Excerpts

Concertos for Oboe

Christopher Tyler Nickel’s contemporary classical compositions pack a bracing and emotional punch. His award-winning works for the concert hall, stage and screen have been heard in over 160 countries by audiences in the tens of thousands. His experience as an oboist instils a confidence to compose with an exhilarating freedom to explore the vast expressive range of the instrument, from lyrical and plaintive to acerbic and brittle. The world-premiere recordings of these three concertos for oboe and its lower-pitched siblings the oboe d’amore and bass oboe receive dazzling performances by Mary Lynch, principal oboe of the Seattle Symphony, and Harrison Linsey, oboist with the Washington D.C.-based National Symphony Orchestra. Grammy Award-winning David Sabee, a tireless advocate of contemporary classical music, conducts the Seattle-based Northwest Sinfonia.

Track List

  • Oboe Suite Movement 1 - Excerpt

  • Oboe Suite Movement 2 - Excerpt

  • Oboe Suite Movement 3 - Excerpt

  • Oboe Suite Movement 4 - Excerpt

  • Symphony for Flute Choir - Movement 1 - Excerpt

  • Symphony for Flute Choir - Movement 2 - Excerpt

  • Symphony for Flute Choir - Movement 3 - Excerpt

  • Symphony for Flute Choir - Movement 4 - Excerpt

Music for Woodwind Choirs

Music for Woodwind Choirs features two major works, one for an oboe ensemble (consisting of two oboes and two English horns), the other a thirty-minute “symphony” for flute choir. Richly evocative and dramatic, each work takes full advantage of Christopher’s combination of experience writing music for both the concert hall as well as his dramatic instincts composing for film and television.


The Suite for Two Oboes and Two English Horns consists of four contrasting movements based on Christian liturgy. From the serene Kyrie, dramatic Dies Irae, reflective Lacrimosa, and finally an energetic Gloria; this piece takes the listener on a sonic journey through the emotions found in each prayer. The Symphony for Flute Choir is also in four movements. The movements contrast one another by using the full expressive range of the flute family. With no programme per se, this piece is often brooding and filled with angst, which at times give way to fleeting moments of uplift, and closes with a fiery finale that is filled with highly demanding jagged rhythms and metric changes. Both works are virtuosic in their demands of the players.


These riveting performances feature some of the finest Canadian performers on their respective instruments, all under the direction of conductor Clyde Mitchell who has created engaging interpretations that will enrapture the listener. Dramatic, energetic, and gripping; Music for Woodwind Choirs takes this unique chamber music sound and gives it a breadth and voice that can be appreciated by both the seasoned musician and general audiences alike.

Track List

  • Horizons Sample

  • Aurora Sample

  • The Shores of my Homeland Sample

  • Then There Was You Sample

  • The Wind's Last Breath Sample

  • A Timeless Love Sample

  • One Moment Under the Stars Sample

  • The Promise Sample

  • Dream Sample


“Horizons” marks the first album release from  composer Christopher Tyler Nickel. Performed by the acclaimed City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra and Chorus, and featuring two breath-taking flute solos by Jack Chen – the music is immediately accessible with its beautiful melodies, dramatic sweeping themes, and powerful orchestrations. From the epic, to the quiet and sentimental – this is music that will move the listener, and take them on a musical journey.

Track List

  • Overture (Rain) - Excerpt

  • Rain (Rain) - Excerpt

  • Lacrimosa (Rain) - Excerpt

  • Tranquility (Rain) - Excerpt

  • Evening Rains (Rain) - Excerpt

  • Love's Moment (Rain) - Excerpt

  • Whispers of Eternity (Rain) - Excerpt

  • Lost in Twilight (Rain) - Excerpt

  • Rain Part 2 (Rain) - Excerpt

  • Epilogue (Rain) - Excerpt


Bold, dark, reflective, tender…Rain, the second album from composer Christopher Tyler Nickel, is truly a study in contrasts.   Defying categorization, this album weaves together a symphonic orchestral sound, Christopher’s penchant for soaring melodies, as well as touches of pop, rock and minimalism into a moving and cohesive listening experience.


Rain was recorded with large orchestra, choir, solo soprano and solo English Horn. Powerful, tender, dark, tranquil are just a few adjectives that describe this tour-de-force of bold musical gestures.   Rain features the exquisitely beautiful and versatile voice of soprano Catherine Redding, whose performances will instantly enrapture the listener with their crystalline beauty and emotional depth. Also featured is English horn soloist Beth Orson, whose brilliant performances include two haunting and rhapsodic solos that will leave their melodies with the listener long after.


Once again, Christopher has collaborated with the City of Prague Philharmonic who offer a rich and expressive musical canvas for the two soloists’ performances.   With the release of Rain, Christopher Tyler Nickel makes a bold musical statement, deftly combining disparate genres, sounds, and styles into a cohesive musical experience. This album charts a new artistic direction for the composer… one that will captivate and enthrall the listener!

Track List

  • The Water Is Wide Sample

  • Me rendi pur contento Sample

  • Suo Gân Sample

  • She Moved Through the Fair Sample

  • Psyché Sample

  • Scarborough Fair Sample

  • My Lagan Love Sample

  • En prière Sample

  • Lascia ch'io pianga Sample

  • À la Claire Fontaine Sample

  • En sourdine Sample

  • Amazing Grace Sample

  • Going Home Sample

Lullaby – Catherine Redding – Soprano

“Lullaby” is the debut album from  soprano Catherine Redding. Dublin-based Canadian soprano Catherine Redding, described as `warm, clear and impeccably controlled´ (The Irish Times), has performed internationally in opera, oratorio and recital. “Lullaby” represents a selection of some of Ms. Redding’s favourite songs from both the classical and traditional repertoire.


Her crystalline and clear voice is beautifully displayed in songs that range from the hauntingly beautiful “The Water is Wide” and peaceful rendition of “Suo Gân”, to the passion and virtuosity of classical favourites such as Handel’s “Lascia ch’io pianga” and Bellini’s “Ma rendi pur contento”. Peaceful, contemplative, emotional and tranquil, “Lullaby” will carry the listener on a sublime musical journey.

For more information, please visit